Foundation Leadership

Donate for a democratic culture


Foundation Leadership


Board of Directors


Anetta Kahane was born into a Jewish family in East Berlin. She began her career as an advocate for minority and immigrant causes immediately following the fall of the Berlin Wall, when she became the first (and only) Commissioner for Foreigners for East Berlin. In this role, she expressly warned against the dangers of right-wing extremism. This led to her founding RAA e.V. (Regional Centers for Issues Regarding Foreigners, Youth Work and Schools) in 1991, which helped schools in the former East German states instill a sense of democracy and intercultural awareness in their curricula. The Amadeu Antonio Stiftung, which Kahane founded in 1998, builds on this mission. She has been the Foundation's chairwoman since 2003.

Kahane's work has been repeatedly recognized by the State of Berlin, awarding her both the Theodor Heuss Medal and Moses Mendelssohn Prize.

Dr. Pia Gerber has committed her professinoal life to researching and addressing right-wing extremism. As an educator, she has worked closely with at-risk youth and immigrants from Eastern Europe. This led to her involvement in the Freudenberg Weinheim Foundation, which is a strong supporter of the Amadeu Antonio Foundation. In 2008, Gerber was appointed the foundation's managing director. In parallel, she is on the board of the Ein Quadratkilometer Bildung Stiftung (One Square Kilometer Education Foundation) as well as spokesperson for Lernen vor Ort (Learning On-Site).


Foundation Council


Andreas Zick, head of the Foundation's oversight council, is a professor at the University of Bielefeld and the director of its Institute for Interdisciplinary Research of Conflict and Violence. For the last decade, he has been responsible for the research project, ''Group-related hate''.

Andrea Böhm is a journalist and was decisively involved in the establishment of the foundation. After living and working in the USA as a freelance journalist for different media, she now works for the newspaper DIE ZEIT in Hamburg. For many years, right-wing extremism has been a subject of her contributions and articles.

Stephan Kramer is the general secretary for the Central Council of Jews in Germany.

Uta Leichsenring is the Director of the Halle outpost of the Bundesbeauftragte für die Unterlagen der Stasi (Federal Commission for the Records of the National Security Service of the former GDR). Before starting her new job in 2005, she was chairperson of the Barnim Uckermark Foundation, director of the police district in Eberswalde, as well as responsible for the Concept of Action for Tolerance of the state of Brandenburg. In 1999, she was awarded the Theodor Heuss Medal.

Petra Lidschreiber is a broadcast journalist who leads the editorial office for Central and Eastern Europe at the Berlin and Brandenburg TV channel RBB. She was previously the editor-in-chief at the RBB, and presenter of the political program "Kontraste" and other programs by the ARD and the RBB. She also was a long-time correspondent for the ARD in New York.

Christian Petry is a member of the Freudenberg Foundation and managing director of the Stiftungs- und Fördergemeinschaft Modellprojekte GmbH.

Hermann Freudenberg was a member of the board until his death in 2010. He founded the Freudenberg Foundation in 1984.
Rupert Graf Strachwitz was a founding member and long-time chairman of the board
Sanem Kleff was a long-serving member of the board.



Amadeu Antonio Stiftung
Novalisstr. 12
10115 Berlin

Tel.:  ++49 (0)30. 240 886 10
Fax:  ++49 (0)30. 240 886 22


U.S. tax-deductible donations

Checks can be made payable to FJC
with Amadeu Antonio Stiftung
in the memo line

Other donations:

Amadeu Antonio Stiftung
GLS Bank Bochum
Sort Code 430 609 67
Account No. 6005 0000 00
IBAN: DE32 4306 0967 6005 0000 00


Our website uses cookies to improve the usability and performance of our services and to track visits. Details about used cookies and ways to opt out can be found in our privacy statement.